# Williamstown Swimming and Lifesaving Club Annual General Meeting 15th July 2023

- 1) Meeting opened at 4.32pm
- 2) Welcome to Country

Williamstown Swimming and Life Saving Club acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land, the Bunurong People. We offer our respect to their elders past, present and emerging.

We acknowledge and uphold Traditional Owner's continuing relationship to the land and water.

### 3) Present:

Claire Howell, Mark Frisby, Leonie Newey, Rod Seeber, Elizabeth McFarlane, Joel Godde, Andree Parker, Paul Sullivan, Rebecca Cameron, Ian Barclay, Brydie Logan, Sally Leung, Marcus Stacey, Joel Farrow, Alex Walton, Alison Dawson, Alvaro Blasco-Herrera, Jose Blasco-Baselga, Karen Van Wyngaarden, Geoff Van Wyngaarden, Gretel Van Wyngaarden (guests Heidi and Jack), Ann Dinham, Chris Thomas, Christian Luxmore, Craig Logan, Simeone Logan, Craig Treloar, Emily Smith, Erin Damen, Flynn Mathrick, Gerry Schalkwijk, Gillian Schalkwijk, Hilary Thomas, Ingrid Magtengaard, Janis Brooks, Jessica Horner, Andrew Canet, Katherine Canet, Ken Newey, Marie Bramble, Merrin McTaggart, Michael Sonego, Nancye Cockfield, Nathan Waddell, Pip Grummet, Renee Smith, Riley Cargill, Ruth Patterson Samantha Cockfield, Samantha Sonego, Sarah Meehan, Sue Breedon, Talia Rodder, Thomas Frisby, Valerie Scholes

- 4) **Apologies** from Jacqui Hewitt, Neil Emmett, Liz and Roger Goga, David Rylance, Jess Thomas, Kaye Tomkins, Phil McTaggart.
- 5) Adoption of 2022 AGM meeting minutes (as circulated with 2023 AGM notice):

Moved: Marcus Stacey Seconded: Simeone Logan

Minutes adopted

6) **Annual Reports:** As circulated via Team App and Williamstown S&LSC website.

**Financials:** Mark Frisby provided an overview of the financials and noted that the club was back to another 'normal' year post COVID-19. Noted a few minor changes including increases in revenue and expenditure and explained

this was largely due to the changes to superannuation payments. The club had a surplus this year and had consistently made surpluses (aside from the COVID impacted year where free memberships were offered for memberships).

Motion: That the Financial report be accepted

Moved Paul Sullivan Seconded Joel Godde

Motion carried

# Presidents Report - Report as circulated

President Claire Howell thanked all members for their contribution to the Club and Lifesaving. Patrols, training, competition, Silver Salties, WOW. Claire had a very busy first year as club president and made special mention that she valued input and the conversations she had with many people connected to the club. Claire noted she values the conversations she has with all and will continue to make herself available to all. She noted the Club Redevelopment and that progress will be communicated to members.

Motion: That the Presidents report be accepted

Moved Joel Godde Seconded Leonie Newey

Carried

7) **Election of Directors**: As there were ten nominations for eleven Directors positions, no election was necessary, and the following are duly elected.

President: Claire Howell V-President Joel Godde Secretary Leonie Newey

Treasurer Elizabeth McFarlane

We received six nominations for the seven Directors positions:

Sam Sonego Charlie Evans Rebecca Cameron Joel Farrow Laura Innes Craig Logan

The committee has one director vacancy.

The Committee who are stepping down are: Mark Frisby

Sally Leung Marcus Stacey Neal Coulson Andree Parker

### 8) LSV Affiliation:

Motion - Affiliation be sought by the Board for season 2023/24 with Lifesaving Victoria Ltd and if affiliation is granted, the Williamstown SLSC Inc. agrees to abide by and be subject to the Constitution, Bylaws, Regulations and Resolutions, together with the awards and equipment of Lifesaving Victoria without reservation.

Moved Joel Farrow Seconded Craig Treloar Carried

> 9) Motion-WSLSC agrees to retain the services of Gerard Harrington Pty Ltd as the auditor for season 2023/24

Moved Leonie Newey Seconded Rebecca Cameron Carried

#### 10) Awards:

Gold Medallion – awarded to Brydie Logan and Chelsea Coulson.

Junior Lifesaver Award / Police Shield – Jose Blasco Herrera Club Person of the Year – Rebecca Cameron Team Player of the Year / Scott Ivey award – Ian Barclay

Life membership was bestowed on Karen Van Wyngaarden (introduced by WSLSC Life Member Samantha Cockfield) and Leonie Newey (introduced by WSLSC Life Member Merryn McTaggart) for outstanding contributions to the WSLSC and to lifesaving.

#### 11) General Business

Paul Sullivan noted the significant contributions of committee members stepping down including treasurer Mark Frisby and schools program coordinator Sally Leung and noted that LSV reach out to Sally for her advice. Paul also thanked Andree and Marcus for their time with the committee. Paul noted volunteer burnout is real and the LSV need to consider this.

## Meeting closed 5.10pm.